1st Trumpet in C part from La Fille aux Cheveux de Lin for Brass Quintet

The Girl with the Flaxen Hair

Claude Debussy
2 minutes
Classical music

Written in 1909 and finished in 1910, "La Fille aux Cheveux de Lin" is one of Debussy's most performed works. I have set it here for brass and in the original key of G-flat major. I experimented with other keys, but it loses it's quiet serenity and grace in other keys. This short work is purely impressionistic and will offer a break from the usual fare for brass performances. It presents a unique challenge to any brass quintet that your audience will also appreciate. Comments and questions are always welcome at dgoforth2@comcast.net. Like me on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/GoForthmusic and visit my YouTube channel at https://www.youtube.com/user/dgoforth2

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Darrell Goforth. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Darrell Goforth has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.