Tenor Saxophone part from Bach - Brandenburg Concerto No. 6 (for Saxophone Quartet with optional Organ)

Johann Sebastian Bach Transc./Arr. - Kenneth Abeling
16 minutes
Classical music

This is the complete Brandenburg Concerto No. 6 for Saxophone Quartet by Johann Sebastian Bach. It has an optional organ part if so desired but will work perfectly well without. Originally written for two viola da braccio, two viola da gamba, cello, bass violin and continuo this transcription despite its difficulty may actually be accessible to non-professional quartets. It for the most part lays well on all of the saxophones and once continuous longer passages have been split, dispersed and dovetailed to allow for breaks and are now shorter and less taxing lines.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Kenneth W. Abeling. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Kenneth W. Abeling has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.