Guitar part from La fille aux cheveux de lin (Alain Jacques / leconte de Lisle)

The girl with the flaxen hair

Alain Marie Jacques
3 minutes
Other parts

This poem by Leconte de Lisle is part of Chansons écossaises (Poèmes antiques, 1852), five poems inspired by the Scotch poet Burns. It has also inspired some work by Claude Debussy . In this setting Alain Jacques has brought some modifications to the text: the two words in square brakets in stanzas 2 & 3, and the two first verses of stanza 4 (the original text is given after the translation) and it is always possible for the singer to return to the original text if preferred.

Translation (AJ):

1. Sitting on the lucern in bloom Who sings so early in the fresh morning? It’s the girl with faxen hair, The beauty with cherry-red lips.

Chorus: Love in the summer clear sun, Has sung with the lark.

2. Your mouth has divine colours My dear and is tempting the kiss! On the grass in bloom will you have a chat? Girl with [blue eyes], and fine locks?


3. Don’t say no, cruel girl, Don’t say yes! I will hear better The long glance of your big eyes And your [sweet lip] ô my beauty.


4. [Your smiles are not insipid And if they invite me well I want] To kiss the flax of your hair, And press the crimson of your lips.


Original text by Leconte de Lisle: Stanza 2: "cils longs" Stanza 3: "lèvre rose" Stanza 4: "Adieu les daims, adieu les lièvres Et les rouges perdrix! je veux" Translation: Stanza 2: long lashes Stanza 3: pink lip Stanza 4: Goodbye deers, goodbye hares And the red partriges! I want

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Alain Jacques. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to Alain Jacques has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.