Flugel part from Scherzo from Symphony No. 4, "Romantic"

Anton Bruckner arranged for brass band by Carlton King
11 minutes
Classical music

Bruckner’s "Romantic" Symphony went through three versions and several more variants. The first version, written in 1874, is rarely heard today, and has a completely different third movement. Most available recordings use the second version, from 1878. The transcription you have here is mainly based on the 1887 (third) version, as revised by the composer in 1888. To my mind it’s a more mature work, with more interesting color/counterpoint in quiet passages, simpler power during loud sections, and a real transition into the trio. In a letter Bruckner described the movement as "hunt and in the Trio a barrel-organ plays during the midday meal in the forest." The German tempo indications are all from the published version; except for the 126 at the beginning, metronome settings are my suggestions.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Carlton King. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Carlton King has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.