1 - Alto Saxophone part from Cantique de Jean Racine for Saxophone Quartet


Gabriel Fauré Arr. B. Bennett
4 minutes
Classical music

This transcription of Faure’s beautiful Cantique de Jean Racine for flexible saxophone quartet is a whole step (concert Eb major) above the original, in Db major, to accommodate the quartet more comfortably. I have also transcribed and transposed the piano accompaniment to go with it but the four saxophones work just as well on their own. If you are not including the piano accompaniment then you may want to omit multi-rests at the beginning and in the middle of the piece.

Piano accompaniment: http://www.scoreexchange.com/scores/186980.html

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Blyth Bennett. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Blyth Bennett has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.