Celesta part from The Russian Autumn, 2015

for Chamber Orchestra

7 minutes
Modern classical music

Of "The Russian Autumn", Daniel Werth has said the following: "My ambivalence towards one of my historical inspirations, the USSR, is presented in this diptych, The Russian Autumn. Although it was responsible for some great achievements (like the victory on the Eastern Front in World War II and send the first man to space), the USSR was also the progenitor of some of the most atrocious acts performed during the 20th century (the Holodomor, the Gulag system, and forced collectivization being good examples). The first piece of the diptych, "In Memoriam Marina Tsvetaeva", is an elegy for a victim of the USSR’s repressive policies, Marina Tsvetaeva, one of the most famous Russian Silver Age poets, and my personal favorite. Although the USSR was not directly responsible for her untimely demise, the Soviet government’s internment of her husband, and daughter, the eventual execution of the former in 1941, and the poverty that had plagued her entire life led her to commit suicide that same year at the age of forty-eight. The composition itself contains two main melodic lines. The first, introduced as a lone soliloquy at the very beginning of the piece, represents the distant western rumbling of the opening year of World War II, while the second, introduced by the viola sul ponticello, is the image of Tsvetaeva herself, teetering between thoughts of continuing on or of suicide. Meanwhile, the second piece of the diptych, "The Battle of Berlin", begins with a fugato section based on the war theme of “In Memoriam". The main theme is introduced in the piano as a quasi-cadenza hastily interrupted by the other players. The piece, roughly in the form of a scherzo, progresses towards a large, celebratory conclusion depicting the capture of the Reichstag in May 1945."

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Daniel Werth. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Daniel Werth has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.