Harpsichord from Corrette Concerto Comique No.24 for String Orchestra

M. Corrette
11 minutes
Classical music

We don't know much about Michel Corrette. There is a list of positions he held. He was a popular teacher with many pupils. Some critics think that his arrangements are better than his original compositions! He left us several musical instruction books which give us insight into contemporary playing techniques

Corrette composed 25 Concerto Comiques based on popular tunes of the day. He arranged these tunes for three melody instruments and continuo. The version of his Concerto No.24 is for three violins and continuo.

I've corrected as many of the errors in the score as I could find and tidied up some of the articulation and slurs.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Paul Wood. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Paul Wood has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.