Home > Quartet > Prelude and Fugue in C major > Clarinet 4 Bass in B^b part

Clarinet 4 Bass in B^b part from Prelude and Fugue in C major

J. S. Bach arr. Peter Foster
7 minutes
Classical music

Clarinet players obviously do not have the opportunity of performing Bach’s music in its original form. Various arrangers have transcribed Bach’s harpsichord music for clarinet ensemble, despite the fundamental differences in articulation between wind instruments and plucked strings. However, Bach’s organ music offers a repertoire in which the attack and sustain of the original instrument much more closely matches what clarinets can achieve. I therefore offer this arrangement of Bach’s Prelude and Fugue in C, BWV 547. Bach’s use of an augmentation fugue has a clear parallel with variation 5 of his Canonic Variations on Von Himmel hoch; this has led some writers to speculate that this Prelude and Fugue was intended as a Christmas piece. Whether or not this is correct, the gigue-like dance rhythms of the prelude certainly give the piece a festive spirit.

For two Bb clarinets, alto and bass. An ossia version of the alto clarinet part is available for basset horn if required. The score of this arrangement is offered free of charge; the intention thereby is to enable quartets to print out an 'approval' copy and decide whether they like it. If you like the arrangement and wish to perform it, please could you then purchase a set of parts.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Peter Foster. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Peter Foster has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.