Home > Quartet > Brandenburg Concerto No. 6, mvt 1 > Clarinet 2 in B^b part

Clarinet 2 in B^b part from Brandenburg Concerto No. 6, mvt 1

J. S. Bach arr. Peter Foster
5 minutes
Classical music

The sixth Brandenburg Concerto has the reputation among some string players of being the least flashy, and the most admired by purists of Bach’s spectacular set of six concerti. The purists are perhaps unlikely to approve of a clarinet quartet playing Brandenburg 6; however, the dark tones of a quartet of violas (two gambas and two violas da braccia) undeniably transfer well onto a standard clarinet quartet of two B flat clarinets, plus alto and bass. For much of the first movement clarinets 1 and 2 play in canon at a quaver distance (the second player needs to take care not to catch up with the first), but alto and bass parts have melodic material as well. Bach wrote very few dynamics or slurs on the original, and this arrangement likewise leaves it to the performers to find interesting and musical ways to vary the dynamics and articulation; light and detached should be the norm.

The score of this arrangement is offered free of charge: the intention thereby is to enable quartets to print out an 'approval' copy and decide whether they like it. If you like the arrangement and wish to perform it, please could you then purchase a set of parts.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Peter Foster. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Peter Foster has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.