Home > Quartet > Brandenburg Concerto No. 6, mvt 2 > Clarinet 3 Contra Alto in E^b part

Clarinet 3 Contra Alto in E^b part from Brandenburg Concerto No. 6, mvt 2

J. S. Bach arr. Peter Foster
6 minutes
Classical music

In the second movement of the original, Bach reduces the scoring, using only 2 violas, plus a basso continuo in which the cello and violone parts are more than usually independent from each other. If you are performing all three movements, the alto player should ideally switch to contra for this one. If a contra is not available, the part can be played at written pitch on alto clarinet, where it will mostly sound in the same octave as the bass part. The observations on dynamics and articulation in the programme note to the first movement apply equally to this one.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Peter Foster. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Peter Foster has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.