Clarinet 4 Bass in B^b part from Brandenburg Concerto No. 6, mvt 3

J. S. Bach arr. Peter Foster
Full details...
page one of the Clarinet 4 Bass in B^b part from Brandenburg Concerto No. 6, mvt 3
This music has been transposed from the original key.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The sixth Brandenburg Concerto has the reputation among some string players of being the least flashy, and the most admired by purists of Bach’s spectacular set of six concerti. The purists are perhaps unlikely to approve of a clarinet quartet playing Brandenburg 6; however, the dark tones of a quartet of violas (two gambas and two violas da braccia) undeniably transfer well onto a standard clarinet quartet of two B flat clarinets, plus alto and bass. The third movement is a gigue-like finale that includes much intricate contrapuntal interplay between parts, which precludes it going at too extreme a speed. However, the dance-like quality should not be lost. The observations on dynamics and articulation in the programme note on the first movement apply equally to this one.

J. S. Bach arr. Peter Foster
6 minutes
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.