page one of the Horn Eb 2 part from Orfeo all’inferno - Ouverture
This music has been transposed from the original key.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Orpheus in the underworld, operetta in two acts by Jacques Offenbach, libretto by Meilhac and e. l. Halévy. First performance: Paris, Bouffes Parisiens, October 21, 1858. In presenting the Olympians as mean-spirited ridiculous characters. Offenbach gave the opera a flavor that a part of the bourgeois audience at the time could also be outrageous and irreverent; but most warn that beneath the charade, lurked a corrosive satire of the second empire and the new bourgeois nobility of Napoleon III. Gone today this flavor, Orpheus in the underworld still lives for his rhythmic and melodic verve spirit, the mundane taste of an era gone, making it a masterpiece of the genre. Seeed is notable, this operetta, the two can-can and the Waltz.

Jaques Offenbach
9 minutes
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Horn Eb 2 part from Orfeo all’inferno - Ouverture