Violin II part from Overture "1812"

P. Tchaikovsky
7 minutes
Classical music

Here is an arrangement of the crowd-pleasing 1812 Overture. I have simplified it and shortened it quite a bit to make it accessible for younger or community ensembles. It is still difficult, but definitely playable.

I believe in pushing student or community groups to play music just outside of their comfort zone. This is the only way for an ensemble to improve. This arrangement is a perfect example. The 1st trumpet part is very high in places. The violin parts are difficult, but written in divisi to have the better players play the top or upper octave. The horn parts are a little high also. In addition, there are cues for commonly missing strings like double bass and viola to be played in the winds and brass.

I would recommend using synth for the cannons if possible to make it an even better performance.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Charles Gunsaullus. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Charles Gunsaullus has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.