Contrabass part from Pastores, Venid (SAB)

2 minutes
World music and Latin music

This is a fairly easy SAB arrangement of a traditional Spanish Christmas carol. The men’s part has alternate notes for use in the case of adolescent males for whom the A2 may be out of range. The guitar accompaniment is also meant to be simple. The guitars play quarter notes. On the first beat of each measure the thumb picks an alternating bass pattern (duplicating the contrabass part). On beats two and three, the index finger (on the third string), middle finger (on the second string) and ring finger (on the first string) simultaneously pluck a three-note chord. Note: the words "venid" and "llegad" end with the soft consonant "d". This is an antiquated form of the infinitive of the verb. This final "d" is lightly pronounced with the tongue placed bi-dentally, similar to pronouncing a hard "th". Visit my website at: to check out my other arrangements and compositions.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Joel Jacklich. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Joel Jacklich has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.