Soprano 1 Recorder part from 25 Telemann Minuets for Recorders SSAT

G.F. Telemann arr. Peter Baljeu
Full details...
page one of the Soprano 1 Recorder part from 25 Telemann Minuets for Recorders SSAT

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This collection of Minuets has been arranged for recorder quartet from a publication by Telemann in 1728 entitled, "Sept fois Sept et Un" in two parts, a melody line and a basso continuo. The 50 pieces were composed in various keys, perhaps to be performed on a variety of instruments such as violin, recorder, oboe lute, mandolin or other melody instrument. I have selected several that I found work well for recorder group. In this arrangement, the melody line is taken directly as written by Telemann and the bass part was taken from the basso continuo line, with minor changes, while the other two parts, Alto and Tenor, were deduced from the chord structure in the figured bass. In some cases, the key was changed to make it more playable with the recorder quartet. It is my hope that these pieces will provide many enjoyable moments for recorder groups of all ages and abilities. Very few extra ornaments have been added to the score, however, that shouldn’t preclude the performer from putting them in, especially on the repeats, as was often the practice in Baroque times to add embellishments the second time through to give variety to the music and to give the performer an opportunity to demonstrate his/her playing skills. The arrangements in this collection were first put together in the summer of 2011 and 2012 for a small gathering of recorder players in Windsor, Ontario, where we would meet together once a week to go over the recorder reportoire that a former music teacher had compiled over the years. These were always always very enjoyable sessions, and this collection of minuets added a few more pages to the 1000 plus that we had to choose from. The arranger, Peter Baljeu, (born 1944 in the Netherlands) is a retired teacher whose career included teaching music (vocal, recorders, theory, etc.) to thousands ofstudents. Now he enjoys writing music (composing for orchestra, concert band, choirs, and small groups) as needed.

G.F. Telemann arr. Peter Baljeu
33 minutes
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.