Choir 1, Part 3 in F part from Brass Choir - Magnificat a8 (Gastoldi)

Giovanni Gastoldi
5 minutes
Classical music

Giovanni Giacomo Gastoldi was an Italian composer known for his balletti and other dance forms. His instrumental music and his religious music are often neglected. This arrangement of his Magnificat, for 8-part brass choir, shows his writing at its best. The ensemble is split into two four-part groups that Gastoldi uses as spacial groups. He worked at the Mantuan court and had access to some spectacular spaces in which to experiment with sound.

With this in mind, I have chosen to arrnage the groups as follows: Choir I: 2 cornets/trumpets, Horn, Euphonium; Choir 2: 1 cornet, 1 horn, 1 trombone and Tuba. Each choir in the original had an SATB set and I have tried to ensure that here. Alternative parts are provided to make the arrangement as flexible as possible.

Choir 1: Part 1 - Bb Part 2 - Bb/Eb/F Part 3 - Bb/Eb/F Part 4 - Bb/Eb/C (Bass clef)

Choir 2: Part 1 - Bb Part 2 - Eb/F Part 3 - Bb/Eb/F Part 4 - Bb/Eb/C (Bass clef)

As with much of Gastoldi’s music, his keen sense of tonality comes through, but in a more restrained way than in the madrigals and balletti. This is, after all, church music. It is a fine addition to any programme.

The score is in landscape format and the parts are portrait.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Mike Lyons. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Mike Lyons has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.