Viola part from Lo, How a Rose E'er Blooming (strings)

A Meditation for String Orchestra

Michael Praetorius
3 minutes
Classical music

Alf Houkom wrote a beautiful arrangement of Lo, How a Rose E'er Blooming which he published in 1975. He scored it for choir, organ and oboe, and I had the privilege of playing the oboe part for several performances. Unfortunately, his work is no longer in print and I do not have a copy. I wrote this arrangement with memories of Alf's ideas still floating through my mind. This is, consequently, not a reorchestration of his original but rather a new work that has been influenced by his approach.

In order to capture the contemplative mood, the tempos are slower than those for normal carol singing. The dynamics must be carefully followed in order to bring out the inner melodies, especially in the thicker textures.

Also available in arrangements for a cappella choir, wind quintet, and organ.

Score: 10 pages. Parts: 11 pages.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by David Sale. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to David Sale has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.