Bassoon part from Goldberg Variations (selected excerpts for wind quintet)

JS Bach
17 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

The Goldberg Variations is one of Bach's supreme keyboard masterworks. My original intention was to score the entire work for wind quintet but this quickly became unmanageable because of the length of the work and the unsuitability of certain variations for winds. These excerpts provide a wonderful introduction to this masterpiece and may lead wind players to further investigation of the original work.

This collection of the aria and eight variations includes the great presto movement (Var. 5) and finishes with the fughetta (Var. 10). This will be a challenge to wind players but is well worth the effort. Suggestions for playing ornaments are included.

Note that the pauses at the end of variations are very short and should only be used to provide a slight separation before beginning the next one.

Score: 34 pages. Parts: 32 pages

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by David Sale. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to David Sale has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.