Trumpet 2 part from Concerto in E Major, BWV 1042 for brass quintet

J S Bach
16 minutes
Classical music

Bach's E-major violin concerto is here arranged for brass quintet, featuring piccolo trumpet in the lead. All five parts will tax the players' stamina - I found the quintet formation only just sufficient to handle the textures of the concerto, and this has led to some very extended sections without rests, although I've done my best to give the players time to rest.

The concerto has been transposed down a semitone into E-flat, which proves a less awkward key for brass.

I welcome comments from brass players, especially those who would like to perform this arrangement.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Graham Dixon. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to Graham Dixon has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.