TENOR part from Drop, drop, slow tears

for SATB choir a cappella

3 minutes
Classical music

A short setting by Philip Le Bas of the classic words of the Jacobean poet Phineas Fletcher. This passionate poem expresses heartfelt regret and penitential remorse for sin. It was most famously set to music as a hymn by Orlando Gibbons and more recently as an anthem by William Walton. This new anthem for SATB choir tries to capture in a more modern way the drama and depth of the words, while retaining a simplicity that enables it to be sung by a church choir. It is particularly suitable for Holy Week services or more generally in Advent and Lent.

DROP, drop, slow tears,

And bathe those beauteous feet

Which brought from Heaven

The news and Prince of Peace:

Cease not, wet eyes,

His mercy to entreat;

To cry for vengeance

Sin doth never cease.

In your deep floods

Drown all my faults and fears;

Nor let His eye

See sin, but through my tears.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Philip Le Bas. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Philip Le Bas has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.