Eb Bass part from The Second Waltz

Waltz No.2 Opus 99

Dmitri Shostakovich
4 minutes
Classical music

Flugel Arpeggios intoduce letter A where the Solo Cornet presents the melody who is then joind by the band at bar 21. At etter B the melody is taken by the Flugel who carries it to bar 59. Euphonium plays the bridge which starts at C & continues to D . D presents a delightful muted cornet quintet. At E solo cornet & soprano play the quaver cadences and at F the trombones take the melody in 3 part harmony. G reintoduces the flugel who plays an obbligato whith the horns who have the melody. The rest of the band join at bar 207 for the finale to an abrupt finish on accented crotchets.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Geoff. Fawcett. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Geoff. Fawcett has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.