Viola Solo part from VIVALDI, A.Violin Sonata IX in e minor transcribed for Viola 3rd movement Giga

Antonio Vivaldi
3 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

The Violin repertoire as we all know is immense with no shortage of the most beautiful music available to violinists�, but the �Cinderella� of the string family as Lionel Tertis referred to his beloved Viola is another matter. Neglected since early times composers were reluctant to write for this glorious instrument with it�s warm, dark melancholic voice, and the very poor standard of players at that time did not help matters, whereas today the professional Violist is equal and can hold his own to his illustrious partners on Violin and Cello. I make no apologies therefore in arranging Vivaldi�s beautiful IX Violin Sonata in e minor for Viola. I prefer a harpsichord to a modern concert grand piano, but to add substance to the bass line and to support the harmonic structure, I have added a cello as a basso continuo. At the present time I am also working on my own Viola Sonata, a terse and complex score in F sharp minor.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.