Descant Recorder part from SCHUBERT, Franz: Fifteen Original Dances from D.365 arranged for Recorder Quartet (desc, tr, ten, bass)

Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
10 minutes
Classical music

Schubert’s delightful 15 Original Tanze from the Erste Walzer for piano Opus 9 (D 365) are well known to flautists in the arrangement - perhaps made by Anton Diabelli (Original Tanze fur Flote oder Violine und Guitarre (Wien: Anton Diabelli, no. 1133, n.d.) - for their instrument. I have rearranged them here for recorder quartet, retaining the original harmonies, dividing the melody on occasions between descant and treble, and adding quite a few flourishes of my own to the lower parts to make them more interesting than the guitar's simple 123. Nevertheless, these early waltzes are very Tyrolean in feel, so they need a good forward impetus.Tempo markings are editorial, as are most dynamics. NOTE: despite reloading, the bottom of p.1 is inexplicably missing in the computer view. It IS complete when printed out.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Douglas Brooks-Davies. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Douglas Brooks-Davies has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.