Repiano Cornet part from Brahms' Trio Opus 8 (Brass Band)

Arr and © by Dr. Jim Fox 2017 from Brahms
6 minutes
Modern classical music

This a British style brass band arrangement of Brahms' Trio, Opus 8 (for piano, violin, viola) that uses the major themes from Movement 1. It runs around 5 1/2 minutes long, has deep chords, running triplets, and some incredible themes. Brahms was a master at filling and changing chords by using techniques such as running triplets.

Other parts are filled with full, deep chords made by the brass band that is much deeper than the original piano accompaniment and give a unique sound that only a brass band can provide.

Instead of using the full Movement 1 as Brahms wrote it, just the melodies were used and woven throughout the piece.

It is a difficult piece with an extensive Marimba part as the primary percussion part. If after purchasing the score, if you have trouble with the parts, email me at the address listed on the cover page.

Speaking of the cover, Brahms had a love affair with early trains.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Dr. Jim Fox. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Dr. Jim Fox has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.