Home > Wind quintet > Tendresse (Dolly Suite no. 5) > Bass Clarinet in B^b part

Bass Clarinet in B^b part from Tendresse (Dolly Suite no. 5)

arranged for wind quintet from the original piano duet (revised June 2017)

Gabriel Fauré
4 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

Faure’s piano duet entitled “Dolly Suite” is here arranged by Philip Le Bas for a wind quintet with a difference: the clarinettist is asked play bass clarinet in this movement. It gives the music more sonority and allows the arranger more opportunity to bring out Faure’s sumptuous harmonies. “Dolly” was the nickname of the baby daughter of Emma Bardac, with whom Faure had a long-running affair, and each of the pieces has a slightly different association with childhood.

In “Tendresse” Faure introduces more chromatic harmonies, used in his later works. As its name and its key of D flat suggests, the music here seems to express deep and shifting emotions associated with intimate relationships, while retaining a sense of calm and comfort throughout.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Philip Le Bas. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Philip Le Bas has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.