Bass Clarinet part from Contrapunctus 11 from 'The Art of Fugue' bwv1080 By J.S.Bach (Clarinet Quartet)

Arranged By Stephen Davies
6 minutes
Classical music

CONTRAPUNCTUS XI is taken from Bach's seminal work 'The Art Of The Fugue', and if you like fugues as I do, this one certainly does not disappoint! Its complex and almost defies analysis but ultimately satisfying to play. In the words of Schopenhauer " The be-all and end-all of the fugue, three subjects, each of them inverted, all of them combined, the first subject even enters in hyper-stretto with its own inversion" I'm sure he knew his stuff! Praise indeed!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Stephen Davies. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to Stephen Davies has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.