Double Bass part from Our Rainbow Nation

15 minutes
Modern classical music

Our Rainbow Nation was written for the West Coast Youth Orchestra in 2016 and is for two African marimba soloists, each doubling kalimbas, and Youth Orchestra, consisting of double woodwinds without bassoons, alto saxophone, French horn, trumpet, trombone, tuba, 3 percussionists and strings.

The work is in 3 movements: Allegro e Spiritoso, Adagio and Allegro Molto. The soloists play marimbas in the outer movements and kalimbas in the central movement.

I consider this to be a ‘trans-cultural’ piece, not only by combining the African solo instruments and Djembes with a Western orchestra, but also percussion from other parts of the world, such as bongos, rain-stick, maracas, cabassa, etc. In addition, the overall style seeks to combine African-style rhythms and melodic fragments in a symphonic setting. By combining and fusing styles in this fashion, I wish to portray how different cultures can live together in harmony.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Malcolm Dedman. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.