Issue, Prologue - 25. Euphonium (bass clef) part from PROLOGUE from STRANGE MYTHS AND WONDROUS IMAGES - A COMIC BOOK CHRONICLE FOR CONCERT BAND - Full Score and Parts

3 minutes
Modern classical music

This work is comprised of three series, each series contains four issues. It may be performed in a number of different ways; each issue or series may be performed separately or, the entire work, consisting of twelve issues and a Prologue, may be performed as a whole. In its entirety, the running time of “Strange Myths and Wondrous Images” is approximately forty-five minutes.

Each issue represents an element: either an archetype, place, or an emotion, commonly found in comic book stories. As a whole, “Strange Myths and Wondrous Images” tells a particular story arc, one that is intentionally void of specific details, inviting the listener to imagine the particulars. Each series also contains its own sub-plot and emotional progression, while the formal structure suggests the traditional symphonic form. ​ Each issue has a duration of three to four minutes, limited to a small, but intensely expressive amount of thematic material. The challenge inherent in this limitation was to create enough contrast, yet not so much as to require more time to resolve it, therefore, each issue is self-contained.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Jason McChristian. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Jason McChristian has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.