page one of the Soprano Saxophone alternative part G part from Stately Dance for mixed winds by David Wheatley

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This charming piece for a small wind ensemble in the style of a 17th century Courtly Dance, was written for a group of friends of varying abilities, to play at a concert. It is multi-purpose - i.e. it can be used with varying combinations of wind, as long as all parts A-G are used - alternative instrumental parts for parts E,F and G are provided. The 1st clarinet part could also be played by a soprano sax. For small groups use a single player on each of parts A-G. The original was written for flute, oboe, 3xBb clarinets, a bass clarinet and a tenor drum. The 2 drum parts H and J are optional and add extra colour.

2 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Soprano Saxophone alternative part G part from Stately Dance for mixed winds by David Wheatley