page one of the Bass Trombone part from Elegy Sentimentale for Symphony Orchestra Opus 1
This music has been transposed from the original key.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Here at last is my ’’Elegy sentimentale’’ for orchestra, and my first original composition (opus 1), for full symphony orchestra.

I hope it makes an excellent piece for amateur and professional orchestras alike; with some challenging and interesting string, woodwind and brass writing for all.

I envisage the ’’Elegy’’ eventually making a good piece of film music, and in consequence any directors or producers looking for a movie theme; please feel free to contact me!

Elegy Sentimenatle is a mournful & melancholic work, suited for performances on the concert platform.

A Supreme Work of Art!

The Elegy Sentimentale opens impressively. Keith Terrett plants a C deep in virgin soil; orchestrated brilliantly for bassoon, harp and delineated by pizzicato double basses this bass line is a tree of a forest; and we are at once held by the strength of the roots. The tonality is immediately clear, and there is a grand feeling of space and power in the wide layout of the score. A lone solo clarinet high in the tessitura accompanied by a solo cello with a counter subject state the opening eight bar theme which embodies the seeds of two ideas, which supplies the generating force for the slightly agitated Piu Mosso which follows. The counter subject given by the solo cello at the beginning is now reiterated by the plaintive voice of a solo oboe and a third motif makes an appearance in the solo clarinet; oboe and clarinet duet beautifully over arpeggiated rhythmic impulses in the harp. A new subject of an accompanying nature, derived from all the material thus far presented now comes off at a tangent on the strings cascading downwards and accompanying woodwind who, play the chief melodic subject while horns cry in anguish. This first section is then repeated; I found the whole experience spiritual, detached and wondering, intensified by the breath-taking stillness. Mr Terrett in the middle section that follows now uses his full orchestral forces; after a key change the emotional charge that follows is cataclysmic in its cry of anguish; the main theme is stated in a full dress orchestral tutti, which is then repeated. The music ebbs and flows with slight variations in the woodwind recalling the main ideas; at the very end high strings bring consolation and finally peace. Keith Terrett shows an admirable command of orchestration and melodic construction and combines these qualities with rare imagination and insight.

Gerald Manning

6 minutes
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Bass Trombone part from Elegy Sentimentale for Symphony Orchestra Opus 1