Cello part from String Quartet No. 1 in G Major

10 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts

Although called "String Quartet", this is really a miniature string piece in 3 movements. There is no development or other structure resembling a classical sonata form. Because of this it is suitable for all levels of player, but especially school ensembles.

The three movements are independant but share some melodic material. The first movement is a simple walz, the second is more of a 'romance' and the third is almost a gigue. It takes its dramatic opening from Rossini's Petite Missa Solennelle. then follows this with a bouncy little motif for the cello which is later taken up by everyone else in the emsemble. The motif is given a fugal treatment. The tempo slows to about half of the original speed and the key becomes the tonic minor. A reprise of the Rossini theme recurs before the piece closes with a flourish.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Mike Lyons. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Mike Lyons has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.