Cello II part from Beethoven: String Quintet No. 1 I Andante and Variations

L. van Beethoven
8 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

This is the string quintet (with 2 cellos) version of the original arrangement of the piano sonata opus 26 for string orchestra. For amateur players it is probably easier to assemble 5 players than a whole string orchestra of 15 or more players. The score shows a string bass part from which the second cello part has been transcribed with the appropriate octave rendering. This opus has a wealth of melodies, and the arrangement attempts to have each instrument participate. I have enjoyed playing the original at various times in my life, but having spent most of my musical life as a bassoonist I have been interested to make available some of the piano and other literature, when appropriate (see my rationale for the arrangement of the Brahms String Quintets opus 111 and 88 for symphony orchestra), for various ensembles, as Brahms and others have done with their own music.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Keith MacGaffey. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Keith MacGaffey has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.