Violin I part from Solo with Strings - Flute Quintet No 1

8 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts

This piece for flute and string quartet was written for Rachel Johnson, my Head of Music. She has breathed new life into the music department in my school for which I am eternally grateful.

Each movement represents some aspect of her character and includes musical references to both Carin (the other Johnson) and myself.

1. The Gift, represents Rachel’s bubbly buoyant character, and gift of music. The movement is in a classical style to reflect her training as a classical flautist.

2. The Blessing, is a reference to her strong religious beliefs and to the calmer and more contemplative side of her nature. The canonical entries create a restful atmosphere over which the beautiful flute melody can soar.

3. The Joy, is a fast-paced Latin-influenced movement that shows Rachel’s interest in modern Jazz music and also her tendency to rush around the department like a blonde tornado!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Mike Lyons. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Mike Lyons has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.