1st Trumpet part from Flight of Fancy

1 minute
Modern classical music
Other parts

The idea behind the piece was to write a short, showy piece for quintet, that would be suitable for use in most settings (i.e. a concert setting or a background music setting, etc.), used contemporary harmony, but was still accessible for most audience members to listen to, and not be put off by the 'modern sound'. As an active player in several brass quintets, I am used to the problem of wanting to provide interesting music for an audience, but not wanting to put them off with too many extended pieces of �modern music�. I have found people often respond better to short nuggets of contemporary sounds, rather than overloading them. I hope this piece can add to that range of repertoire.

This piece is dedicated to The Victoria Brass Quintet, who gave the premiere on October 15th 2005.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Christopher Lydon. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Christopher Lydon has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.