Violin I part from Pavane: Belle que tiens ma vie (String Quintet - 3 violins, viola, and cello)

from Orchesography by Thoinot Arbeau (Jehan Tabourot) 1588
2 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

This is another of the arrangements I have done for the Horsley Family String Quintet. It is the pavane (a slow dance from Padua, Italy) "Belle que tiens ma vie" taken from a 1589 book on dancing titled "Orchesography" written by a man named Jehan Tabourot under the pseudonym Thoinot Arbeau. It is quite well known. In this arrangement, the viola plays the part of the tambour (drum). While the part can be played pizzicato, it is really better "col legno". "Col legno" means "with the wood". To play "col legno" one holds the bow inverted from its normal position, with the hair up and the wood down, and the player drops the wooden shaft of the bow onto the strings, striking the strings to produce the sound. With most student bows this is not a problem. For players with really expensive bows, they prefer not to take a chance on damaging their bows, and they either use a cheap bow whenever "col legno" is called for in a score, or they use another thing to "hit" the strings, like a pencil or a Chinese chopstick.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Joel Jacklich. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Joel Jacklich has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.