Violin II part from Pavane: Belle que tiens ma vie (String Quintet - 3 violins, viola, and cello)

from Orchesography by Thoinot Arbeau (Jehan Tabourot) 1588
Other parts
Full details...
page one of the Violin II part from Pavane: Belle que tiens ma vie (String Quintet - 3 violins, viola, and cello)
This music has been transposed from the original key.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This is another of the arrangements I have done for the Horsley Family String Quintet. It is the pavane (a slow dance from Padua, Italy) "Belle que tiens ma vie" taken from a 1589 book on dancing titled "Orchesography" written by a man named Jehan Tabourot under the pseudonym Thoinot Arbeau. It is quite well known. In this arrangement, the viola plays the part of the tambour (drum). While the part can be played pizzicato, it is really better "col legno". "Col legno" means "with the wood". To play "col legno" one holds the bow inverted from its normal position, with the hair up and the wood down, and the player drops the wooden shaft of the bow onto the strings, striking the strings to produce the sound. With most student bows this is not a problem. For players with really expensive bows, they prefer not to take a chance on damaging their bows, and they either use a cheap bow whenever "col legno" is called for in a score, or they use another thing to "hit" the strings, like a pencil or a Chinese chopstick.

from Orchesography by Thoinot Arbeau (Jehan Tabourot) 1588
2 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.