page one of the Horns III & IV in C part from Symphony in C, III
This music has been transposed from the original key.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

NOTE: On Feb. 11, 2006, I uploaded a revised score and set of parts correcting several errors that had been in the previous edition. One person had already purchased the old score and set as of that date. If the person who purchased a score and set of parts on Feb. 8, 2006, will contact me, I will send the revised edition of the score and a set of parts to that person FREE.

The third movement of Bizet's Symphony in C has been edited for easy page turning in the parts by providing that all parts of this movement are on either a single page, or on a two-page spread which can be opened and not require a page turn. The third movement is also re-metered into 12/8 from the original 3/4 for clarity of phrases, and for easier part following (not getting lost in countless measures on "one, one, one, one…." The basic division note was halved from a quarter to an eighth, and the former four measure groups of the old 3/4 were incorporated within a single measure of the new 12/8.

I have also provided transposed parts for Clarinets (in both B-flat and A) in place of the original Clarinets in C; transposed parts for French horns in F (as opposed to the originals in G and C), and Trumpets in B-flat (in lieu of the original in C).

Georges Bizet
6 minutes
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.