Flugelhorn part from Schumann - Adagio for Tuba and Brass Band

4 minutes
Classical music

Roger Bobo, tuba virtuoso and pedagogue, has said that "Schumann’s Adagio and Allegro is perhaps the best piece in the French Horn repertoire, and quite possibly for all wind instruments."

In using brass band to accompany Solo Tuba for this piece, the band must be able to play with tremendous sensitivity, and still allow the soloist to express himself freely. There is no doubt in my mind that the tuba is capable of giving this piece a beautiful performance. My only concern is for the ensemble to allow the soloist to do so.

I would like to introduce you to - Adagio by Robert Schumann Op. 70

  • It should be noted that I have added a Bass Clef Soloist part to be used at the player’s discretion.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Mark Preece. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Mark Preece has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.