Bass part from Sarabande (from Pour le Piano)

Claude Debussy
4 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

This is the somewhat popular second movement from Claude Debussy's suite, Pour le Piano (composed in 1901).

In arranging this, I have stayed mostly true to the piano part. I have marked in some commonplace liberties that are generally taken with tempi and dynamics. I also changed the voicing of some of the chords in order to retain the "thickness" of sound that the piano provides. The only "big" alteration I made was at bar 55, where I added two beats in order to include the D#'s in octaves (it's so dramatic in the original, I couldn't imagine leaving it out!).

Enjoy! (Oh, and those of you who are very knowledgeable about strings, please let me know if any of the double stops, etc. are impossible, or too difficult to be feasible. Thanks!)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Joshua Reed. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Joshua Reed has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.