Descant recorder part from Himno de Riego Variations, op. 25b

Jose Maria de Reart y Copons
2 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts

Originally composed by don Jos� Mar�a de Reart y Copons (1784 � 1857), this contredanse became the official anthem of the spanish Republic (1931 - 1939). This is a new version for flute and recorder of my previous arrangement for string trio and piano.

Note on dynamics: In response to comments by Ward De Ketelaere on my dynamics for the recorder part, the recorder can play dynamics if the performer has a good technical level. A professional recorder player has in fact played this score with dynamics without any problems. The dynamic range for the recorder is of course not as extreme as on a violin, but with modern instruments (e.g. Maarten Helder) the player can control the width of the air channel during playing, so it can produce a very enjoyable crescendo or decrescendo, if competent enough. Moderately good performers should still be able to give a feeling for the dynamics through articulation and can therefore treat my dynamics as indicative of sound quality.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Jordi Vives i Batlle. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Jordi Vives i Batlle has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.