Piano part from BACH, J.S. Sonata No.2 for Violin & Clavier BWV 1015 transcribed for the Viola by Gerald Manning

page one of the Piano part from BACH, J.S. Sonata No.2 for Violin & Clavier BWV 1015 transcribed for the Viola by Gerald Manning
This music has been transposed from the original key.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Composed in Cothen between 1719-20, the contrapuntally rich yet always tuneful six violin sonatas were then revived some ten years later by Bach for performance. Bach would probably have played the harpsichord but it would have been a difficult decision for him as the instrument dearest to his heart was the violin.

The first movement marked Andante, Dolce, is full of pathos and intense sadness but maintains a nobility and stature in its weaving contrapuntal lines. The second movement is a joyous and invigorating fugue, which has an exciting climax at the conclusion of the central section. The violin states the first theme which contains an element of ceremony and swagger which is then taken over by the harpsichord. In the beautiful Andante un poco third movement Bach marks his Alberti style bass staccato sempre while the violin and right hand of the keyboard echo each other in canonical imitation. The mesmerizing brilliance of the Presto Finale, which has a noble and heroic element, especially the descending passages first on the harpsichord and then the violin have great emotional potential for performer and listener alike.

J.S. Bach
12 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Piano part from BACH, J.S. Sonata No.2 for Violin & Clavier BWV 1015 transcribed for the Viola by Gerald Manning