Solo Violin part from BACH, J.S. - Have mercy, Lord - from the St. Matthew Passion - arr. for String Sextet by Gerald Manning

J.S. Bach
8 minutes
Classical music

Many consider Johann Sebastion Bach as the greatest musician who ever lived; many consider his St. Matthew Passion as the greatest choral music ever written; many consider the Aria Have mercy, Lord, on me with it�s themes of betrayal and forgiveness as the central philosophy in the suffering and passion of our Lord. The Aria immediately follows the Recititive in which as predicted by Jesus, Peter denies him thrice with the words � I know not the man.� Peter went out and wept bitterly at his betrayal. The Chorale, which follows, pleads forgiveness with the words �Lord to Thee I come again, Thy forgiveness is assured me thru Thy son�s despair and pain�.

In the original score the Aria is scored for Alto and strings with a violin solo, organ and continuo; in this arrangement I have given the Alto�s music to the great Alto singer of the string section, a solo viola, and added a solo violin thus enlarging the ensemble to a sextet, and dispensed with the organ. In the Chorale, which Bach scores for double chorus, I have doubled the solo violin and solo viola parts to first violin and viola respectively to add weight. I have included the full text of both the Aria and the Chorale at the beginning of my score.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.