Part 2 part from Ode To Joy from the 9th Symphony - classroom ensemble

page one of the Part 2 part from Ode To Joy from the 9th Symphony - classroom ensemble

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This is a simple 4-part arrangement of Ode To Joy from Beethoven’s 9th Symphony. It works very well with a Key Stage 3 mixed ability class (I use it with Year 9 children). The parts have pitch names clearly printed above the notes.

Part 1 is good for pupils of an average ability, part 3 is slightly easier, with part 4 being the easiest. Part 2 is a little more challenging as it has the harmony underneath the tune.

This piece works really well with a whole class of 20-30 pupils. I use xylophones, glockenspiels and keyboards, and ask certain pupils to set their keyboards to specific sounds, e.g. violin, viola, cello, bass will give you a string section. After about 6 lessons of work on the individual parts, the whole ensemble should come together well. You can also run through it more than once, with different instrumentation for each playing (as in the original symphony).

1 minute
Classical music
Other parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Part 2 part from Ode To Joy from the 9th Symphony - classroom ensemble