Bassoon part from Elegiac melody no.2 (Spring) for wind quintet

4 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

A departure for me the wind quintet, but I thought this piece suited the idiom well. I have been inspired to write and arrange more for this grouping since I was contacted by an Australian musician asking about the possibility of arranging some of my brass quintet pieces for wind quintet. So keep your eyes open, they are on their way! Elegiac melody No.2 - a beautiful piece of music by Grieg, would enhance any concert programme. I'm not certain about the title though. As with nearly all of my pieces I check titles etc with my copy of Groves. But found nothing with this title by Grieg. This title came from the very old piano manuscript I arranged the piece from. If anyone knows the correct title I would appreciate them contacting me.

Thank you to the oboe player from Sugarcreek woodwinds who bought this piece but more importantly gave me the correct title: Elegiac Melody no.2 Spring


Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Ian Cartwright. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Ian Cartwright has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.