Trumpet 3 part from Holberg Suite op.40 Prelude

Edvard Grieg
3 minutes
Classical music

Although born in Norway, Ludvig Holberg (1684-1754) was considered the father of Danish literature because of the many years he spent studying and writing in Denmark. In 1884, Grieg was asked to compose a cantata honoring the 200th anniversary of Holberg's birth. Although Grieg fulfilled the commission, he was dissatisfied with the result and surpressed the score.

As though to replace the failed cantata, Grieg composed a suite of dances for piano that he dedicated to Holberg. Although he adapted the forms and rhythms of 17th century dances–Prelude, Sarabande, Gavotte, Musette, Air, and Rigaudon–he infused them with the spirit and character of late 19th century music. The composer later transcribed the Suite for string orchestra. Today, the Holberg Suite continues to be a repertoire favorite both in its orchestral transciption and in its original piano version.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Michal Rosiak. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Michal Rosiak has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.