Descant Recorder II part from Satie, E. - Gymnopedie No. 1 - arr. for Recorder Consort by Gerald Manning

Erik Satie
4 minutes
Classical music

Erik Satie�s earliest compositions comprised a set of three works, which he entitled �Gymnopedies�, in which he set out to evoke the ancient world by the use of highly original modal harmonies, pure simplicity and monotonous repetition, nevertheless they had an influence on Debussy who orchestrated and conducted two of them. He had a certain reputation of being a musical humorist only because of the titles he gave to his compositions but the reality of his situation was that he lived in poverty and seclusion, and his music known only to a few friends, made him indolent and morose. However he was a popular figure and something of a celebrity for a group of young composers who considered him a pioneer and consequently proclaimed him as their mentor and leader.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.