Bassoon 1 part from Verlassene Octavia ... Geloso sospetto

Recit & Aria from "Octavia" for high Soprano, 5 bassoons & B.c.

Reinhard Keiser
6 minutes
Classical music

Aria for high soprano with accompaniment of five bassoons and basso continuo. First and second bassoon have soloistic roles, bassoons 3 & 4 accompany and bassoon 5 provides the continuo bass line. Bassoons 3 & 4 will be suitable for less proficient players.

The voice & harpsichord part is the vocal line plus harpsichord realisation of the figured bass. Both Bassoon 5/Cello and Voice & Harpsichord parts contain the continuo figures.

The aria comes from the opera "Octavia" by Reinhard Keiser (1674-1739) written for the Hamburg Opera in 1705. This opera was much admired by Handel, who was working in Hamburg at the time. More recently the aria has amazed and astonished its audience when it was performed informally by Pamela Davies and the Canford Bassoon Consortium at the Canford Summer School of Music 2006.

This aria is one of three in this opera utilising the bassoon as a solo instrument. Check my scores for the other two (with 2 and 5 bassoons soli in unison respectively).

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Renate Wendel. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Renate Wendel has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.