Violin I part from VIVALDI, A.- "The Four Seasons" - Concerto No. 2 in G minor: L'Estate ("Summer") - arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Antonio Vivaldi
9 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

Antonio Vivaldi was a consummate artist and musician in every sense of the word; he was one of the most celebrated violin virtuosi of his time, and according to one observer who was present at one of his concerts where his violin solos at intermissions became legendary observed that Vivaldi � made his fingers jump to the point where there was only a hair�s breath between them and the bridge. He did this while playing imitative passages on all four strings at incredible speed� His reputation as a virtuoso violinist outstripped his reputation as a composer, but that is not to say his contemporaries did not appreciate his genius in composition, for the great man himself, Johann Sebastian Bach arranged a great deal of his music for the organ and other instruments, and although Vivaldi cannot be credited for inventing ritornello form, he did however establish it as the norm for concerto fast movements, and further more he instituted the standard three-movement (fast-slow-fast) concerto structure. Although his considerable output as a composer included 38 operas, cantatas, motets and works in various other genre, it is through his violin concertos, which were widely known and studied in Germany and other countries, that he is best known today, although what is less well known is that the four violin concertos known as �The Four Seasons� come from the eight concertos which make up the Op. 8 collection, and these violin concertos contributed to the expansion of violin technique.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Gerald Manning. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Gerald Manning has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.