Home > Brass quartet > Magnificat, D 486 for Brass Ensemble and Organ > Schubert Magnificat, D 486 - Trumpet 4 (optional) part

Schubert Magnificat, D 486 - Trumpet 4 (optional) part from Magnificat, D 486 for Brass Ensemble and Organ

Franz Schubert
8 minutes
Classical music

The Magnificat, D 486 is a lesser known work by Franz Schubert. It was composed in 1815 for Soloists, Chorus, Orchestra and Organ. Although the reason for its composition is unknown, the Magnificat was intended for performance at the parish church in the Viennese suburb of Lichtenthal, with which the composer felt closely associated. The work, originally in the key of C Major, is conceived in three movements. This is a rousing, festive, joyous, celebratory work. It can be played with brass quintet and organ but I have added the original orchestral trumpet and timpani parts to the outer movements, which are optional, that will add tremendously to the overall character of the piece. The middle ´┐ŻAndante´┐Ż section should be played one on a part. You do not need to use the optional parts. I think doubling or tripling all the quintet parts is acceptable in the outer movements, especially if you are playing in a large church with a powerful organ. The more the merrier. Please enjoy!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Warren Wernick. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Warren Wernick has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.