Violoncello part from CORELLI, A. - Concerto Grosso No. 4 in D major - arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

page one of the Violoncello part from CORELLI, A. - Concerto Grosso No. 4 in D major - arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details


The Concerto Grosso that in Italian literally means grand or large concert is an early style of orchestral writing that evolved in Italy in two distinctive orchestral genre. In the north its form took the basic four-part string writing, which was complemented by the leader of the orchestra as soloist; but in Rome Corelli was developing a form of the Concerto Grosso along with Stradelli and Torelli, which became to be known as the �classic� form, and there is no doubt that Corelli was the originator. This comprised of several soloists called the �concertino� opposed against a full string ensemble the �ripieno�. This form that bears an analogy to the Eighteenth Century Overture and Suite comprised of several movements including Largos, Allegros, and Andantes, with Minuets, Gavottes, and Gigues occasionally interspersed. As Sonata form evolved and developed the Concerto Grosso was gradually replaced by the Concerto of Mozart�s time.

Without access to the original manuscripts, which have been edited by Pepusch, the violinist Joseph Joachim and musicologist Friedrich Chrysander among others, tempi and bowing articulation�s cannot therefore, be regarded as reliable and faithful to the composer�s meanings and intentions; dynamics are editorial suggestions only and Ensembles� should insert their preferences regarding interpretation during rehearsals.

Arcangelo Corelli
10 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Violoncello part from CORELLI, A. - Concerto Grosso No. 4 in D major - arr. for String Quartet by Gerald Manning